pépites de chocolat

14 Jun

Whether I’m baking cookies, muffins or pancakes, I must insert a small army of chocolate chips. In fact, I just took a pan of sad-looking enchiladas out of the oven and I caught my hand hovering precariously over the jar of chocolate chips. Maybe they will improve the taste {if not appearance} of said dismal enchiladas.  Sorry mom, but the enchilada recipe tasted so much better when I was in college…

Even while baking during my many attempts at the “less is more” diet {butter}[APPLESAUCE], I always manage to throw a fistful of chocolate into the batter as if to make up to the recipe that I really cherish its original contents.

Well, here is the recipe that poured sunshine into my Michigan spring morning today:

Banana Muffins

*Makes approximately 16 muffins.

{Add chocolate chips/chunks/shavings, si nécessaire}

Preheat oven to 350. Spray muffin tins with nonstick cooking spray.

In a large mixing bowl, combine:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

In a separate mixing bowl, combine:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup mashed banana (approximately 2-3 ripe bananas)
  • 1/3 cup butter (though I split this between real, as opposed to faux butter & applesauce)
  • 1/4 cup milk

Add the banana mixture to the flour mixture and stir until combined. Do not over mix as this will make tough, rubbery muffins and then nobody will eat them no matter how many chocolate chips you drop in to the batter. It is at this point that I need to separate the batter for the sake of my younger son who strongly dislikes…CHOCOLATE CHIPS! I fill 4-6 muffins 2/3 full with the plain, boring batter. Then I add in a liberal handful of chocolate chips to the original batter. I fill the remaining cups with this enticing, delectable chocolate chip-laden batter.

Bake for about 20 minutes.

*The original “bones” of this recipe come from Kraftfoods.com. But like all bakers, there are hidden-to-you modifications!

There is also a seriously yummy banana muffin recipe on the joyofbaking.com website. Please visit it as well at:

RED ALERT! RED ALERT! Just went to their website and the recipe no longer exists! There is another banana muffin recipe but it’s just not the same. I will share this recipe at another time when I actually feel like posting another banana muffin recipe post…{NOT}!

One Response to “pépites de chocolat”

  1. Mariann June 26, 2010 at 2:11 am #

    I don’t think I’ve made that enchilada recipe SINCE you were in college. I don’t think it tasted bad but it looked ugly.

Leave a Reply

