halloween is coming…ha, ha, ha…

2 Oct

With the entrance of fall in Michigan comes the acceptance that I will be retreating indoors more often than I would like. Gone are the warm breezy days with the sun shining and the windows open. In a matter of hours, the sun disappears with the geese and the heater creeks on unsuspectingly {Oh, did I do that?}. But the arrival of cider-mill weather also encourages me to bake, craft and decorate for the future succession of “fun” holidays. I look forward to pulling out my faux cobwebs, mini plastic spiders and random plug-in, light-up jack o’ lanterns (whose plug or light is intervally missing).

When January arrives and I realize that I am truly in the throes of a Michigan winter, I lose all desire to prep for the “other” holidays – Valentine’s Day, Groundhog’s Day, President’s Day {really?}. I must take advantage of any motivation I am feeling right now before it quickly gets buried in a pile of bitter cold snow/sleet/ice.

So, with Halloween upon us, I’m very excited to share the first craft I have created for the holiday season. Ok, so I may have googled, researched and Martha-Stewart-ed this project, but it was fun and extremely easy to make.

Supplies:

  • Modge Podge (or Elmer’s Glue)
  • Water
  • Shallow bowl
  • Cheesecloth
  • Scissors
  • Toilet paper roll, empty
  • Small balloon, blown up

Directions:

  1. Cut a small, single layer of cheesecloth. I varied the sizes to represent the different members of the Petrie family.
  2. Combine a small amount of water and Modge Podge to create a liquidy paste mixture.
  3. Set balloon on top of toilet paper roll.
  4. Put the cheesecloth into the glue/water mixture and wring out excess. Stretch out cheesecloth and lay over the balloon. Allow to dry overnight.

Optional: I saw some website that included small felt or googly eyes glued on to the cheesecloth, but really? Must I keep making trips to the Dollar Tree? There’s only so many plastic weapons I can take in the toy collection!

 

One Response to “halloween is coming…ha, ha, ha…”

  1. Amy October 5, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    how cool, cheesecloth sculptures! I am already spinning with ideas. I always wondered what to do with Modge Podge. And cheesecloth, which is otherwise is good for nothing and I have so much of it (um, I bought it to wrap Herbs de Provence in soups but said herbs always fall through the holes).

Leave a Reply

