and while I’m at it…

13 Nov

I think I see a running theme here. I was going to blog about a dessert I brought to a friend’s house. But didn’t I just write (like literally nanoseconds ago) another post of the same weight and dimension? However, seeing as I never actually fully ate the crisp recipe and this recipe is all about chocolate, I must.

Why in the world does someone who wants to lose a couple pounds (me) like to bake so much? Why can’t I have the desire to be an avid housecleaner? Or dog walker? I mean, Scooby’s 13 now. Can’t he walk himself by now?

And why would I torture a friend who’s also trying to lose weight, by bringing a possibly calorie-laden dessert over as a “nice gesture”? Well, it was actually for her {sweet} husband who so kindly took the time on a Friday night to check the brakes on my car (nothing wrong). She always told me that he liked to be paid in desserts. And, well, I like to bake. So, hey Sean, can you look at my car brakes for a 99¢ box of brownie mix?

Of course, I took that box and modified it. And this is what I came up with (compliments of someone else’s idea of course). This recipe was posted on a website called “Squidoo”. Check out its logo; it’s odd. Odd aside, the recipe was a good base for the items I had in my pantry (I’ve always wanted to use that word. It’s actually a cupboard, though.).

So, I call it brownie mix with marshmallows and frosting on top. Squidoo calls it Rocky Road Brownies.

1 brownie mix (store bought 19.8 oz)
1 cup chopped pecans
3 cups mini marshmallows
2 squares of unsweetened chocolate (1 oz each)
1/3 cup milk
1/2 cup butter
1 package powdered sugar (16 oz)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Mix the chocolate brownies according to the package directions. Then fold in the 1 cup of chopped pecans into the batter. Spread the batter mixture in a greased pan and bake for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle the miniature marshmallows over the hot brownies so they melt a bit. Cool.

In a heavy saucepan, melt the chocolate, milk and butter together until combined (be sure to stir constantly). Remove chocolate mixture from the heat and add the vanilla. Then add the powdered sugar a little at a time, mixing with a hand mixer on low speed, until the frosting is the desired consistency for spreading. Spread over brownies with marshmallows. Cool and cut into bars.

Now comes my part. I had the brownie mix, but not the pecans. Well, I had them but I typically (or another word would be never) use them in recipes. Had mini marshmallows. No to squares of unsweetened chocolate. I did use 2 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips and NOW I know why the recipe was so stinkin’ sweet, Kim. It calls for Unsweetened. DOH! Milk, yes. Butter, yes and yes to the rest.

The first issue I had with this recipe, besides the fact that I used the wrong chocolate (wait, did I just say wrong and chocolate in the same sentence?) was that the recipe says to cook the batter for 25 minutes. Now, y’all know I live in the Peach Pit. And if you don’t, it’s a 110 year old farmhouse with an equally old oven. However, despite the age of my cooking implements, 25 minutes and out produced a still liquidy mixture. In other words, it wasn’t completely set yet. So back in the oven again. TWENTY more minutes later and I wondered if maybe there was a reason it was supposed to be slightly undercooked.

Issue 2: The part where it says, “sprinkle the marshmallows over the hot brownies so they melt a bit”? Yah, not so much. They rolled around like little tumbleweeds. They didn’t stick and they definitely didn’t melt…even a bit. Then again, maybe that’s because I cooked the brownies to completion.

Issue 3: The frosting that you make to spread over the brownies with slightly melted minis on top made way TOO much. You could easily have halved that recipe. I had a whole saucepan of chocolately goodness waiting for me later that night. NOT GOOD. Ok, maybe a little good.

Also, it was hard to spread the frosting without dragging those poor tumbleweeds around the top of the brownies.

And now it’s time for a visual:

Ok, so the reason they looked sort of “melty” is because I ended up popping it back in the oven for a few seconds, but don’t hold me to it. It could’ve been minutes.

And before you think I can’t evenly spread my ingredients (though these ingredients were trying to escape from me), I left one end without marshmallows in case there was someone (JACK) who complained about marshmallows. [Though he typically will eat anything with sugar (see crisp post) but sometimes just likes to come up with something to complain about…especially if it’s been hours, minutes, seconds since he last complained.]

And here is the final product.

Notice the giant layer of frosting. And yes, that pot looks slightly larger than the sauce pot I originally claimed to have eaten from later that evening.

And by the way, I did try it. It was over the top good. I even ate the piece I saved for Tom.

Leave a Reply

