berry crisp {take TWO}

13 Nov

I’ll explain the {take two} part in a minute. But first, I need to share with you a yummy recipe that I “ganked” from Ina Garten. I needed a quick dessert that had an impressive quality to it. During one of my marathon Food Network viewing experiences, I watched and documented every iota of Ina’s peach and raspberry crisp recipe. (Do I capitalize that?) Anyway, her “Recipe” was filed away in the dessert portion of my brain. So, when it came time to produce a dessert to bring to my friend Heather’s house, this came tumbling forward. That and the fact that I was staring at a bag of frozen blueberries and frozen peaches in my freezer. So, let me share with you this very sweet and yummy dessert:

Peach and Raspberry Crisp

Ingredientsnocoupons

  • 4 to 5 pounds firm, ripe peaches (10 to 12 large peaches)
  • 1 orange, zested
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 1 1/2 cups plus 2 to 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 pint raspberries
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oatmeal
  • 1/2 pound cold unsalted butter, diced

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter the inside of a 10 by 15 by 2 1/2-inch oval baking dish.

Immerse the peaches in boiling water for 30 seconds, then place them in cold water. Peel the peaches and slice them into thick wedges and place them into a large bowl. Add the orange zest, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, and 2 tablespoons of flour. Toss well. Gently mix in the raspberries. Allow the mixture to sit for 5 minutes. If there is a lot of liquid, add 1 more tablespoon of flour. Pour the peaches into the baking dish and gently smooth the top.

Combine 1 1/2 cups flour, 1 cup granulated sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, salt, oatmeal, and the cold, diced butter in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment. Mix on low speed until the butter is pea-sized and the mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle evenly on top of the peaches and raspberries. Bake for 1 hour, until the top is browned and crisp and the juices are bubbly. Serve immediately, or store in the refrigerator and reheat in a preheated 350 degree F oven for 20 to 30 minutes, until warm.

Phew! Now that you’ve read through that (*not), let me tell you that I didn’t actually make this recipe. Well, I did, but I didn’t have fresh peaches. I had a bag of frozen peaches that may or may not have added up to 10-12 large peaches like her recipe suggests. I also definitely did not have a pint of fresh raspberries because a) they’re expensive and b) [insert blank mind]. I had frozen blueberries, though. Ina, does that count? I threw these together in a ceramic dish and prepared the topping which made WAY TOO MUCH. Not that Jack minded; he enjoyed eating the remaining chunks of butter whipped together with his other favorite food group: brown sugar.

I threw this in the oven, but had to leave ½ way through the cooking time (yah, I’m one of those) to do the whole pick-my-kid-up-from-school routine. Ran back home, grabbed the “mostly” cooked dessert (cooked enough for a couple of stay-at-home-moms anyway since we eat most things that are undercooked, overcooked or have been sitting on the counter for days cooked). As I arrived at my friend’s house, I carefully unloaded some items out of my car to carry into her house. When I returned to the car, I noticed (yet couldn’t react fast enough) that her dog had nudged the top of the lid off my crisp and proceeded to be licking all the way around the perimeter (as well as in the middle) of this warm, yummy crisp.

So, do I know what this tasted like? No. Should I have placed the dessert NOT on the floor of my car? O.k. Should I have shut the car door, knowing the dessert was on the floor, though carrying several items in my arms Rachael Ray style? No answer.

Here are the leftovers, thanks to Cheese (a.k.a. “that dog”).

So, the {take TWO} component of this recipe is that I had the chance to remake this recipe for my grandma’s 101st birthday. This time I had even less of the bag of frozen peaches and absolutely no other fruit but frozen strawberries. I also halved the crisp topping recipe, used the same baking vessel (washed since Cheese’s foray into dessert-hood), but it actually wasn’t enough (though Jack was hovering around with his pincher grasp dangling over the butter/sugar mix). So at that point, I grabbed some butter and mashed it between my fingers with some brown sugar. Was it exact? No. And I actually didn’t get a chance to taste this recipe either because once we travelled the 40 minutes to my mom’s for the birthday “party”, my son declared he wanted to go to his school’s fall dance. And by DECLARED, I mean he whined the entire time until he beat me down. So we ate dinner and left. And I left the dessert. I have no idea if it got eaten or got sent to the neighbor’s dog.

But give the above recipe a try. I can almost assure you (based on the aroma coming and the quick forkful I took from the undercooked mixture) that it’s a great {something sweet}!

6 Responses to “berry crisp {take TWO}”

  1. Amy November 13, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    I have a Franken-recipe I put together from Joy of Cooking and Cook’s Illustrated for peach cobbler. It has both the doughy part and the crisp on top, because I can never decide if I want a cobbler or crisp. But I never have enough peaches–and I have used both fresh and canned and frozen. In the end, it never matters. (It’s all about the sugar parts, right?!)

    And one time we brought home a fresh blueberry pie from our favorite pie bakery, which is an hour’s drive each way; they’re so good it’s worth rearranging your whole day to get one. We put the piping hot pie on the oven and went to have some coffee on the porch and suddenly our friend yelled from the kitchen, ‘WHERE’S THE PIE?!” We went in to find every single scrap except for the crust on the side completely wiped out by Freda, who somehow had managed to move the entire pie with her nose and stand on her hind legs long enough to eat the whole thing. Ugh.

    • Amy November 13, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

      oh and I can’t believe you just wrote “ganked”! No one here ever knows what I mean. Is it a northern thing?

      • Tres Chick November 13, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

        I thought my roommates and I came up with at State…I just remember that’s when we started saying it. I don’t think I’ve used it since then but it just popped into my mind!

  2. Heather November 13, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    I’m still a little traumatized by the whole thing. And I wanted that cobbler so badly. I never even told Harry about it for fear Cheese would never be allowed human contact in the future for messing with his dessert. :)

    • Tres Chick November 13, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

      Oh, no trauma needed. It was just something fun to write about. You knowhow much stuff Scooby and/or Daphne have eaten off our counters!

  3. Amy November 15, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

    Oh, ok, makes sense I got ganked from you then. Since college it’s just been a part of my vocabulary. Derek and I have little peeve words–I think ganked didn’t go very far in this house. Sorry to hijack your comments.

    My dogs get in big trouble when they eat off any table/counter/etc. They know before we even come in the room that they are in trouble and usually run for cover. But why is it that they always pick the thing you are just dying to eat? I made these elaborate lamb shanks one time and was savoring each bite, left the room for a second and you guessed it. I actually cried.

Leave a Reply

